Scientists believe that computers, not humans, will control cars in the near future. What are the reasons for that? Would this be a positive or negative development?

The past few years have seen a growing tendency among people toward using various technologies in different parts of their lives to the point that it is even claimed that vehicles would be controlled by computers, not in the distant future. This essay will analyze the origins of this new phenomenon as well as whether the overall result of this progress is positive or negative. There exist several reasons linked to why robots will control cars in the future. First and foremost, new technologies such as artificial intelligence are far more accurate than humans. In other words, AI not only would enhance the driving experience, but it would also avoid road accidents, thanks to its multiple sensors and complex algorithms. As a case in point, if drivers have heart attacks, computers would take control of the car and call the emergency, which would save their lives. Moreover, it is a well-established fact that using artificial intelligence in driving cars can save people a great deal of time and energy. For example, in long-distance journeys that drivers often feel sleepy, the car’s automatic system would help individuals arrive at their destination sooner and safer without having to stop. Undoubtedly, this progress, similar to every other development, is like a double-edged sword with both pros and cons. Regarding the potential drawbacks, this development may inflict adverse damages on people’s driving abilities if they become over-reliant on automation. Moreover, even a slight mistake in the car’s computer system would jeopardize the passengers’ lives. On the other hand, by no means can we overlook the benefits of AI in saving time, energy and reducing road accidents. In conclusion, I lean toward the idea that the main reason for this development is the higher accuracy of artificial intelligence in comparison with people. This has both advantages and disadvantages; however, the merits associated with the emergence of self-driving cars outweigh its demerits.