Scientist and technology experts seem to be more valued by modern society than musicians and artists.

With renewed technological advancement and unique scientific discoveries coming up every day, it is assumed that Science is gaining more importance than art and music. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that art and music is equally valued in the society. Firstly, with the ubiquity of technology from work, healthcare and even shopping, we don’t have much social interactions left. Although our life has been simplified, human is a social animal and everyone needs a respite. Entertainment in the form of music and art comes to the rescue of people when they are stuck in the monotony of life. For example; with the survey conducted by Oxford university on a group of 10, 000 people when the participants were made to hear soothing jazz music, their brain scans showed that it released Endorphins, Dopamine and Serotonin hormones which are responsible for happiness and reducing stress levels. Secondly, science and technological innovations need to reach the masses so that people are made aware of their availability in the market. That’s when artists’ mass appeal will help promote these products. For example; in the famous reality programme Kaun Banega Crorepati hosted by Amitabh Bachchan, a versatile of technological innovations made for Social development were showcased. Also, music band Green Day is revered for its political and social messages with regards to American Politics. To recapitulate, while scientists are valued for their contribution, artists receive more honour because they express universal emotion as well as provide thoughtful critiques to social, political and economic systems. They are also more widely known by mass people and respected by them as a result.