Schools should prepare students for the labour market and not waste tme and resources on theoretcal knowledge.

Today’s work environment has become increasingly specialized. Accordingly, many parents want schools to focus their limited resources on furnishing children with skills that are relevant to the workplace rather than on abstract ideas. I strongly disagree with this notion due to its long-term consequences, both for the individual and for society. In terms of individuals, graduates with narrow scopes of training become married to their skills. This means they are limited to what they have learned and become highly dependent on the health of their particular industry. Take for example an expert in petroleum extraction who lost his job when the oil market collapsed. His skills are so specialized that he cannot simply move on to another field; thus, he would need to return to school to gain new, employable skills, or wait for the oil market to rebound. Had this person been given a theoretical knowledge base, he may have been more well-rounded and adaptable to changes in his industry. As regards society, if we create a world of limited individuals, entire communities may lose their diversity and innovation as its members cannot think beyond their schooling. Without theoretical knowledge, critical thinking skills are lost, soon followed by a loss of cultural identity, tolerance for others, and the ability to expand horizons. A society of scientists and accountants, in other words, will not be able to provide people with the spiritual, emotional, and creative stimuli they need to get through life and grow, leading in the long run to stagnant and failed societies. In conclusion, there is no doubt children should be equipped with skills that will make them employable; however, as children evolve into the adults that comprise a society, they need to be prepared to deal with life outside the office.