Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think that they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help student find a job.

It is often argued that too much time is being spent in school to teach subjects like History. It would be beneficial if more time is spent in imparting vocational training to students which, in the long run, will help them to earn a living. I partially agree with this view because in my opinion, though teaching practical skills is important, other core subjects like History, Geography, and Literature have their advantages too. In this essay, I will shed some light on this point of view. It cannot be refuted that in today's times of globalization, vocational training is very important for securing jobs. Firstly, in today's job market, more skilled and technically sound workers are needed. Since vocational training gives hands-on experience and is practical oriented, it helps a student to survive the pressures of a particular job in the real world. Secondly, vocational training is specifically beneficial to students who, due to financial or intellectual constraints, are unable to pursue tertiary level education. Last but not the least, vocational training is practical and its inclusion in the school curriculum may help a student to understand where his aptitude lies. In future, the student may pursue that stream for further studies. To illustrate, a student who has discovered her passion and skill for stitching and embroidery may take it to the next level after school by enrolling in a full-fledged fashion designing school. On the other hand, it is true that teaching traditional core subject is equally important because the aim of any form of education is to impart knowledge while removing ignorance. Firstly, basic knowledge of these subjects at school level helps in widening the overall outlook of a student towards the world. It helps in the all-round development of a student. For example, the study of history is actually the study of mankind which familiarizes us to our roots, customs, and values. A person without basic knowledge of history is like a fallen leaf who doesn't know to which tree it belonged. Secondly, while studying these traditional subjects, a student may realize his liking for the subject and may be inclined to pursue higher studies in that field. It would be too naïve to say that higher studies in subjects like History and Geography do not have job prospects. Finally, a well-equipped and knowledgeable person is an asset to the society. In conclusion, I believe that although teaching job oriented practical skills at school level is very beneficial, it is also true that a basic knowledge about other subjects like History is essential for overall growth and development in school life and beyond.