School should concentrate on teaching students the academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Subjects such as music and sports are not useful.

Some believe that schools do not have to focus on non-scholar disciplines since they are useless for work. While academic subjects are, of course, important, I agree with those who believe musical and physical education appear as essential. There is nothing wrong for schools to concentrate on academic subjects in an era of fierce competition. To keep their position in the match, employers prefer to select better talents than ever before. But for school leavers, the only certificate to rely on is their academic grades. They may appear less competitive without good grades. If so, they might lose the chance and finally not getting hired by their ideal companies. By contrast, subjects as music and sports could play a distinctive role in school leaver’s future career. On the one hand, what they learned from these subjects may offer more chances in their future work. It may be easier for an interviewee with excellent sports skills or musical talent to show uniqueness among various competitors. Also, shared hobbies with unfamiliar clients can crack the hard nut of communication. On the other hand, doing music and sports means hundreds of hours of exercise, which can help students develop valuable quantities. Such characteristics enable employees to do better when they are requisite for long working hours and hard paperwork. I believe that the main point is to make sure that young people are ready for their future life. Schools must cultivate teenagers’ abilities from both academic subjects and others.