In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

In this day and age where it seems unheard of to not be a university graduate as many students apply for higher education right after their secondary education, it would be assumed that having a college degree means an assured entry into employment, however this seems to not be the case. One factor that may have contributed to this situation is the ever growing availability of graduates with the propper qualifictaions for alot of the jobs that are there. Eventhough there are enough people to be employed for these vancies, the need for them is not as great as the quantity of graduates. One way of fixing this problem would be to increase the standards for applicants that are applying for the graduate programs, or to raise the tuition fee which I beleive would not be the best method to overcome this issue. Another reason that could have caused this issue is that since most workplaces consider an applicants work experience as well, most newly graduates would not have any jobs in their studied field of work. This could lead them to take on different occupations that have no connection to their degree, which would prove to be a waste of the money spent as well as all the years allocated to completing thier degree. I think that this would be solved if the employers were to look into academic achievements as much as work experience in order to provide equal oppurtunities to all candidates. In conclusion, although many countries have an abundance of qualified graduates compared to the need for emploment, measures can be taken to reduce the rate of this happening