School authorities should not spend time and money on music classes and more emphasize should be given to useful subjects like science, computer and technology.

It has been a debatable issue whether to spend time and money on music classes or not at the school level. Some sect of people argues that music tutorials are simply a waste of time and money instead they suggest to use that time in improving academic performance. However, I believe that school should be encouraged to attend music classes. There are myriad reasons why a child must be sent to music classes. Firstly, music has the power to generate life in inanimate things. Music represents the art of living. A student with knowledge of music will definitely become soft-hearted, kind and mainly pleasant minded. Music improves mental ability which in turn increases concentration power. Thus a child can utilise this power in studies to attain good results. In today’s world, there is a bright career in music. Moreover, pop musicians, singers, music directors, etc get high endorsements. For instance, the legend of the music industry, Oscar award winner A. R. Rahman is a well-known live example who shows the importance of music in life. However, to an extent, music is an innate talent and all the children do not same interest in it. So, in such cases, it may be a waste of time as well as an extra burden on a school student to handle both music classes and also academic syllabus. On the other hand, some people assert that children should make use of money and time in learning useful subjects like science and computers rather than on music classes. Subject related classes enhance their in-depth knowledge of academic concepts. To add more, it will be a kind of revision that increases grip on the school subjects. Ultimately this yields good results. And as we know good results ensures their bright future with a better job. Therefore, it seems wise to spend time and money on useful subjects instead of music classes. In conclusion, good academic performance may secure a student’s career but I opine an all round development is essential for a child in which music plays a very crucial role.