Road transport is taking over rail services. Discuss the positive and negative effects of this development. Is this situation true for your country?

Transport is an imperative facilities to move goods from one place to another worldwide. Road and railways are the land transport. In some nations, freight and goods are moved mostly by the road transport instead of railway. In this essay, I will give careful analysis of pros and cons of this argument. On the constructive side, road transportation is more convenient to carry general freight from one destination to other place. However, sometime companies and facilities need their items to be delivered overnight which is not possible in railway transport. Moreover, some goods are perishable that need to be transported by road carriers to short distances. There some hilly areas where it is impossible to set up railway track. It is only possible by trucks, vans and cars to commute material to that place. On the flip side, there are some negative aspects of road transportation, which are indirectly plus point for rail transport. Firstly, industries have to pay high bills who use road transport. Therefore, railway are the mode of transport used for longer distances. Secondly, rails can carry thousand of tonnes material in one time which is not possible by road. Furthermore, road transport leads to congestion on roads, which may cause serious accident in various countries. For instance, more freight are sending by road rather railway. In 1980, they used 90% of railway mode and 10% of road transport to move freight from one state to another state. Nowadays, 60% of goods are transported by road and 40% of items are used to delivered by rail. In conclusion, road transport definitely has many benefits over the rail transport. That is why, it is becoming more popular in many countries whereas, transport agencies need to think about both aspects which is advantageous for their nations.