Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment

Given the increasing cost of university tuition and limited graduate job opportunities, it is often suggested that universities focus solely on degree courses which are practical rather than artistic subjects. However, I strongly disagree with this point of view, as I believe that subjects thinking skills, while also making a significant contribution to society as a whole. First of all, studying the humanities can help develop critical thinking skills which are useful in a range of careers. By studying these subjects, students become active thinkers, who are able to solve problem, evaluate different options, and make reasoned decisions. These skills are transferable to many fields, such as law, politics, and education. Therefore, although it appears that studying the humanities will not help graduates find a rewarding job, it can be argued that these skills in fact increase their employability. Furthermore, expertise in subjects such as art and history allows learners to contribute to our wider civil society. This is because knowledge of culture and history is an essential part of any civilized country. Without an understanding of history, we would be unable to learn from the mistakes of the past. While there is no question about the value of science, medicine, and business in our lives, it is clear that the humanities also make a valuable contribution. In conclusion, it is illogical to suggest that the arts should not be taught in universities, as critical thinking skills and cultural knowledge they develop benefits both graduates and our societies.