Restricting use of Phone on Schools, is it positive step

Most of the school-going kids nowadays have a mobile phone. It gives a sense of security and connectedness to both parents and kids. But nowadays many schools have taken a step to prohibit the use of mobile phones in school. I think it is a positive step as it helps students to focus on study and it will also impact their physical and mental well-being. Restricting the phones in the classroom itself with improving the learning. This is simply because without the phones student and teachers won't have distractions in the classroom. When students have their phones with them, for the instance, there is an unavoidable urge to view alerts, messages, and social media updates. Even the most professional teachers will end up sneaking their phones for texts or just to scroll the social media feed. These continuous distractions crumble the attention span and draw away the focus from important educational topics. This can have a significant impact on academic progress in the future. Thus not allowing the use of phones during sessions will help students to perform better in academics. Along with that having no access to phones on the school campus will have a positive effect not only on student's physical health but also on their mental well-being. Because in the absence of phones students will be not glued to phone screens but will more interacting with their classmates. To give a clear example, nowadays social media has become so addictive that students prefer knowing about fellow classmates via their social media updates. In many cases, it has been observed that students get affected very badly due to how someone else has reacted in their social media posts. Which may impact their mental health and they can face social anxiety or confidence issues in the long term. In another instance, nowadays there are a plethora of options in mobile games, students often end up playing those games for hours. This can result in students being less physically active and they may end up being overweight or obese in the future. Hence prohibiting students to carry phones will help prevent them from eroding their mental and physical health. In a conclusion, though mobile phones are an inseparable part of our modern lives, I strongly feel restricting their use in school is a beneficial step to keep students progressing in academics as well as sustain their physical and mental health.