Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (hereinafter “New York Convention”) does not explicitly set the “partiality of arbitrator” as a ground for the refusal of recognition and

In fact, United Nation Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (hereinafter “New York Convention”) does not explicitly set the “partiality of arbitrator” as a ground for the refusal of recognition and enforcement of final arbitral award under its Article V. However, it is generally accepted that lack of impartiality on the part of the tribunal is a ground for refusing enforcement on ground of public policy under Article V. 2. (b) of the New York Convention. The question is, how the caucusing technique may result in the bias of arbitrator? There is the risk of contamination of the arbitrator’s mind (bias) because of the information relating to the positions taken and evidence disclosed by parties for the purpose of mediation without prejudice, and using the same neutral as arbitrator who was the mediator may mean that their understanding of the case is tainted by what they learned during the without prejudice proceedings. So, it may be difficult for a mediator-arbitrator not to be influenced by the private communications he/she hears where a “caucusing” technique is adopted. Especially within the frame of article 9. 3 of Prague Rules, if the mediation fails and the arbitration proceedings continue, the mediating arbitrator will probably lose his/her objectivity and impartiality on the account of the information he/she became familiar during the ex parte mediation sessions which are not part of the record. There are also some cases in which this exact danger has been focused on. One of the most famous cases in this regard is the Gao Haiyan v Keenye case (hereinafter “Gao Haiyan”), in particular the analyze of Court of First Instance of Hong Kong (hereinafter “CFI”) in the enforcement procedure of its final award. The CFI in Gao Haiyan case specifically pointed out the significant risk connected with the caucusing technique when used by mediating arbitrator: “the mediator who acts as arbitrator obtains confidential information in the course of one-on-one meetings with a party. That information may consciously or sub-consciously influence the mediator when sitting as arbitrator. It would be unfair on the other party for the media-tor turned arbitrator to act upon the confidential information without first disclosing the same and affording that other party a chance to comment on any prejudicial impact of the confidential information”. Even though CFI’s decision on non-enforcement of the arbitral award was reversed by the Court of Appeal, the CFI’s analyze is particularly important within the light of other abovementioned arguments about the risk of apparent bias resulting from caucusing. Additionally, in the US Duke Group case, as well as in the UK Glencot v Barrett case, it was upheld that just the fact of organizing private caucuses in the mediation phase can be interpreted as suggesting a bias in the med-arbitrator.