Recently, working extra hours has been increasingly common among employees in many countries

Recently, working extra hours has been increasingly common among employees in many countries. This essay will discuss the reason for this phenomenon and then explain why it will bring more detrimental impacts on employees than benefits. Nowadays, working overtime seems unavoidable and there are a variety of reason leading to this trend. Firstly, because of the development and advancement of society, living expenses is escalating, which force people to spend extra hours at work so as to get more money than just their basic salary. This helps people to afford lives and pay for their daily living costs such as electric and water bills. Another reason is heavy workload. Regular work hours might not be enough for employees to finish their tasks, especially in a peak season so they have to work overtime to tackle with this workload. In today’s modern world, competition at work is indispensable part. Therefore, if people do not complete their work well, they can be replace at any time. However, it is undeniable that this trend can present many problems. To begin with, working too hard can make employees’ health deteriorate. If people spend too many hours at our job and do not have time to take part in outdoor activities, this will result in tiredness and cardiac problems like obesity and heart attack. Furthermore, working too much can also cause a lot of mental problems. For instance, great work pressure can lead to stress and more seriously depression, especially young people. In the other hand, working extra hours will leave them little time for themselves and their families. Many parents have a little time with their children so they can not take care of them carefully, which contributes to negative youth development and the relationship among family members will become more distant. In conclusion, although it is understandable that why people spend more time at work, I believe that the effects it brings are more disadvantageous than beneficial.