Reading is preferred over television

It is often believed by some people that television is a wonderful source of getting information, while others prefer reading books. Although there are a few drawbacks, I believe that the advantages of reading books certainly outweigh them. The first benefit of reading books is it helps develop imagination. Since most of the books such as fiction novels usually provide description and no visuals, it helps the reader to work on their imagination. This would also help in building creativity in the long run which helps people take up professions which require innovations like designing. The second reason being that reading helps people develop their language and knowledge. To take an example, there is a lot of different vocabulary given in books which would help the reader enhance their language skills. On the other hand, the main drawback is that reading can be time consuming. Many people these days lack time due to the urban way of living, because of which they are not able to set time aside for reading. Hence, some people prefer television over reading to save time. To take an example, a movie based on a book would be completed in 2 hours, but the book would take much more time to complete. Additionally, the added visuals and the sound effects which makes it entertaining to watch. Another negative, is the burden of carrying a book around while travelling, as many native readers prefer paper books over eBooks. To take an example, while travelling it becomes difficult to accommodate many books in the luggage, if it is a short trip. To summarise, I would like to reiterate that while reading books has some disadvantages, I believe that advantages are far more.