Radio and television audiences in UK throughout the day in 1992

As one of the most popular tourist attractions, a lot of museums nowadays are charging an entrance fee for visitors, while others remain free of charge. While there are both advantages and disadvantages of applying an admission fee, I personally believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. It is clear that the maintenance costs of a museum is incredibly high. One of the advantages of applying an entrance fee to the museum is that it can help the operator of the museum cover the costs to run the museum, such as water and electricity bills, personnel salary, and equipments. Another advantage is that the museum will have more income from the ticket revenue to improve the customer service and the facilities of the museum itself. For example, in my experience a museum that can decorate the exhibits and keep the place clean attracts more visitors than the one that cannot regardless of ticket price. A museum's main purpose is to educate visitors about things that are shown in the museum. By charging an entrance fee, it is harder for people to have access to such a vast amount of information, especially if the price is too high so that a lot of people cannot afford it. Most museums are also run by the government, so that it is financially supported by government funds. By having to pay for admissions, it discourages people to go to the museum. This can be seen from the fact that more people are spending their free time in public parks than in museum. In conclusion, an admission fee in a museum can be beneficial for the operator of the museum but there are a lot more drawbacks than benefits.