punishment is not the only measure for adults to take when children break rules or fail to meet expected standards of conduct

It is essential for children to be educated to differentiate between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is believed to play a vital role in the education. I disagree with the opinion to great extend. Firstly, punishment is not the only measure for adults to take when children break rules or fail to meet expected standards of conduct. Children can learn the differences between right and wrong by receiving appreciation and encouragement. Teachers and parents should give compliments and presents to the children doing good deeds. By this way, they understand that their good behavior is expected and appreciated. The stubborn children who are not given gifts are aware of their misbehavior and competitively try to be better. In addition, punishment is not always effective for adults to educate children. That parents overuse punishment can lead to unexpected actions of their offspring. The children have experienced punishment so many times that they are no longer afraid of it anymore. In addition, children might misbehave in order to check adults’ boundaries. In other words, bored children are eager to figure out what kinds of punishment will be applied for their specific acts of disobedience. Thus, punishment is not only unnecessary to help children learn the distinction between right and wrong but also facilitating misbehaviour. In conclusion, parents and teachers are not obliged to impose disadvantage and hardship on misbehaving children. Instead of punishment, people should use appreciation, encouragement and rewarding while educating children.