Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs.

Public libraries are great source of information. Many people believe that only books should be ‎provided in public libraries, and having DVDs and videos there is waste of money. I completely ‎disagree with this notion because these new storage devices can profoundly benefit our countries. ‎ The primary reason why I believe public libraries should invest on DVDs and videos is that using these ‎sources can reduce the number of trees that are being cut down every day. Papers are made from ‎wood, the main source of wood is forests and jungles, which provide oxygen for our planet. Books ‎require a sizeable number of trees and eliminating them by other sources can be beneficial for the ‎environment. Therefore, Using DVDs not only can save a vast number of trees, but it will also have ‎provided us with cleaner environment within a few years. ‎ On the other hand, DVDs and videos have longer life cycles. Despite advances that have been made in ‎increasing the life cycle of books, keeping them in secure places in museums for instance, they are not ‎as durable as DVDs, or videos that are usually made out of recycled plastic. If libraries invest on DVDs ‎and other types of data storage devices, they will greatly reduce their expenditure in the long run. In ‎other words, the more investments on recent storage technology, the lower the cost would be. ‎ ‎ In conclusion, I would rather our government invested on DVDs and videos for libraries rather than ‎new books, because in this way not only can we save our forests, but we could also save money to ‎invest on other necessary aspects of our country. ‎