Many people play video games as a main way to entertain. Do the advantages of playing video games outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, video games are considered a major recreational activity for many people. From my perspective, the drawbacks that accompany this trend are more significant than the benefits. On the one hand, playing video games has some certain merits. Firstly, video games could be an effective method to help players relieve stress. It is because when playing games, people can be able to enter a new world and escape the reality of their daily activities, which means that people can temporarily forget about their problems. Secondly, playing games allows players to horn some essential skills. For example, mission-based and multilevel – based games can stimulate people to think strategically to overcome challenging levels, which might lead to an improvement in problem-solving skills. On the other hand, there are some downsides of playing video games. The most obvious disadvantage is that it could be detrimental to people’s health. As games are addictive, people tend to play games excessively. This leads to a lack of physical activities, which in turn lead to a higher risk of health problems such as eyes-related diseases or backbone problems. In addition, playing games can worsen a student’s academic performance. Once students are addicted to video games, they seem to procrastinate on their studying or just ignore the deadline to play their favourite games. Furthermore, people communication skills might be rusty when people spend an excessive amount of time playing games. It is because people with internet-connected games can easily chat with others without ever leaving home, which means these people might be confused when they have to deal with actual face-to-face interactions. In conclusion, while playing games can bring about considerable benefits, I am convinced that its drawbacks are more significant.