Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does color influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Colors are one of our world's greatest creations. Some people argue that colors have the capacity to transform people's feelings and that this should be taken into account when decorating public spaces. I strongly agree with this idea. In this short essay, I will discuss my point of view and explain how colors can play a role in one's well-being. First of all, colors touch people's souls and deep feelings. In fact, a study from the University of Montreal has demonstrated that specific emotions could be triggered by certain colors. For instance, grey induces a state of melancholy, whereas, blue brings joy. Hence, this notion should be considered when colors have to be chosen in certain areas. For example, in a hospital, colors that create a relaxed state of mind have to be used to help patients and their families to cope with the difficulties that come with the sickness. Second, colors play a role in people's mental health. Indeed, it has been proven, by a psychiatric experience in 1974, that being able to see bright colors, like green and yellow, decreases anxiety disorders. On the other hand, people in prison, who only see dark colors, have more psychological complaints. Moreover, specific colors have an impact on the capacity to focus in the work environment. Employees who work in offices decorated with intense colors are more productive and creative, whereas shades of beige are associated with fewer achievements. To sum up, colors strongly affect humans' feelings. For this reason, they should be adapted to suit specific locations. Also, great attention should be given to colors because they alter people's mental health and concentration at work.