Protecting Minority Languages

Internationally known languages like English, Spanish and Mandarin are very useful, since nowadays we encounter a lot of multi-cultural people and for most job-seeking people English is the medium of communication especially during job interviews. So it may not come as a surprise that minority languages are slowly dying prompting some countries to take steps to protect them. In my opinion, minority languages especially our native tongue need to be protected. These dialects are part of our history and culture and raising awareness of its extinction will guide the new generation on how to value and respect them. In the Philippines, the government had already started by incorporating in schools the speaking of the native tongue by adding a specific subject for it, using it during lessons and in class discussions. Most students find it easier to learn since most are still using the dialect and they can readily ask for help from their parents or grandparents with regards to school work. In this way, students also learn the origin of the words and connect them with how history has shaped civilization with the help of language. They understand the evolution of a specific word and feel pride and joy with how far we have come. Using the minority languages is also a way for the young ones to communicate to the still surviving old generation at the same time they will be able to learn more about life from the wise ones. Conversations with older people have become comfortable as well since more and more antique words have come to light and are being used again. This is important because not all can understand the international languages. This will promote good communication and unity amongst the people. Although we cannot really put aside the widely used languages because it is important in modern communication, we must also not forget the minority languages which are the foundations of our society and which are also important to keep us grounded on our roots and learn from our history.