Pros and cons of telling children that they will achieve anything if they try hard enough

Telling children that they will achieve anything as long as they put in enough effort is prevalent in certain cultures. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of this message. To begin with the positives, it can be such a strong motivation for children, or even anyone, for that matter. As their parents lift their children up by saying that they can do anything regardless of their abilities, they are strongly likely to keep believing in themselves and achieve their goals, which will not only enable them to be optimistic about their future, but it will also possibly help them gain confidence in diving into new things, in which other kids may be afraid of even trying. In contrast, there are also some possible drawbacks of giving this message. If parents constantly tell their children that they will achieve anything, the children may feel that they are under pressure and therefore burdened rather than motivated. For example, in countries like China and South Korea, some parents obstinately push their kids to study for overwhelming hours, or to become a doctor, without considering their children’s opinions at all. Furthermore, there have been a number of actual cases in which students committed suicide as a result of their parents’ constant demands. Moreover, the degree of success that these pushy parents want for their children is usually unrealistic, so it can additionally lead the children to frustration, setting them up for failure. So for these reasons, parents need to strike a more healthy balance when raising children so that the children would have better potential for significant accomplishment. In conclusion, I agree that telling children that they can achieve anything with sufficient effort can be a strong motivation for them. However, it will most likely only work if they do so in moderation.