Pros and cons of teleworking

With the advance of technology, the majority of employees work from home instead of traveling to a workplace every day. Many support this view because of its convenience, whereas others opine working from home also has drawbacks. This essay shows the benefits as flexible and commuting-free, also its catastrophic impact on people’s health and concentration span. The positive aspects of telecommuting stand out through providing employees with flexibility as well as freeing them from daily tiring commuting. Flexible working environment allows workers to freely choose the appropriate time for appointments. Unlike others who adhere to 9 to 5 jobs, home-based workers can work whenever they feel productive, such as at midnight, with no obligations to follow any rules. Apart from that, teleworkers also save a large amount of time within non-commuting travel. While officers waste much time stuck in traffic congestion, work from home is effortless by allowing them to access the task or meeting on time simply by pushing a few buttons. Oppositely, working from home still has its downsides, arousing negative emotions and shrinking attention span. The decrease of mental health is one of the consequences that employees have to face up with. Namely, teleworking has less chance for people to interact directly with their colleagues, thus they might experience feelings of loneliness and isolation. People who telecommute also easily get distracted from work by external factors or unplanned activities. Having no supervision and restrictions, those with the work-from-home lifestyle are likely to apply their attention to state-of-the-art social software, watch television or just get extra time to relax. To sum up, work from home has shown its two aspects to people. Personally, this trend is suitable for me and it is best to maximize its potential while making attempts to minimize the limitations of this working method.