pros and cons of social media

Currently, people all around the world use social media as a part of their lives because they allow people to communicate with one another, catch up with the news, and support the searching for jobs. However, social media provide effects on mental health, wrongly examined news, and ability for the hackers to invade others’ privacy. On the one hand, using social media may lead to three positive effects. Firstly, social media assist people to keep up with their old friends who they have not seen for many years. For example, Instagram helps me contact my friends from elementary school and high school. Even Though, I have not met them for a long time, Instagram aids me to communicate with them again. Secondly, social media spread the information faster than any other media. Social media sites are one of the top new sources for people to use compared to televisions, printed newspapers, and the radios. People can report the and catch up the situation immediately via Social media. For instance, Donald Trump usually gives a speech by tweeting a message on Twitter, so people can catch up the information faster than waiting for the press to release it to the public. Last but not least, social media serves companies to advertise new products or campaigns. To illustrate, Apple has advertised their new products on Youtube for a long time, and Apple keeps earning a lot of profits from people who buy its products which were promoted on Social Media. Therefore, social media allow people to keep up with others, get any information they require, and support the selling of products. On the other hand, social media also lead to these three negative effects. First of all, social media can lead to a harmful effect on people's feelings. With the increase of social media uses, cyberbullying is on increase. Most of the social media platforms are for people aged 13 or over. They also warn that bullying abusive behaviours including harassment is banned and not allowed. However, there is still cyberbullying, and it will generate the bad feelings and low self-esteem of people. Furthermore, social media enable the spread of unreliable and false information. Although social media are the platform that give information and news to the public quickly, the information and news may sometimes be false due to the un-thoroughly examined information which triggers the misunderstanding of people. Thirdly, social media lack privacy and expose the users to hackers. When creating the public profile on social media, many people fail to consider the security. The more personal information people include on their profile, the easier it is for the hacker to exploit their information. Thus, using social media without realizing the information deliberately can lead to the negative effects of mental health, misunderstanding, and privacy. After all, individuals around the world utilize social media as a portion of their lives since they permit individuals to communicate with one another, capture up with the current events, and encourage the advertisements. Nevertheless, social media give impacts on mental health, wrongly inspected news, also the capacity for the hackers to attack others’ privacy.