languahe communication ielts jam

Nowadays, people are able to communicate effectively from other countries by using English or other languages. However, people sometimes find difficulty in understanding one another because of the different meanings in their native languages. It is said that language has the ability to shape one’s world view. This essay agrees with the aforementioned statement with some reservations and provides examples to support this point of view. Language has the potential to influence one’s world view owing to the fact that it affects the ways of life of people. Since language is a part of culture, it specifies the custo ms, traditions and ways of life from which the speaker comes. It is undeniable that language is important to understand others. However, there is still a mistake in communication because a person is not likely to understand all languages in the world. There are still some thoughts and feelings that each person cannot convey strongly in another language. People who are born in different nations, speak different languages, and grow up with different cultures would have different views toward ways of life. To clarify, children who were born in China and were taught in Chinese language tend to behave in Chinese culture. For example, there is a Westren culture that when someone sneezes, others will say “Bless you” to him or her. The “Bless you” reflects the belief of Westerners that when a person coughs or sneezes, his or her spirits will leave his or her bodies. Thus, saying “Bless you” is similar to the blessing of God to not get sick. Meanwhile, others who were not born in Western countries or speak Western languages are not likely to understand. It can be seen that people from different cultures would have different opinions toward ways of life as languages shape them. Therefore, language is able to outline one’s world view through ways of life. Furthermore, language is able to frame people’s perspectives in very different ways. Due to the fact that each country has their own various native languages, the language impacts the perceptions of people to think in a different way. To illustrate, some societies nod their head instead of saying “Yes”, but some nod their head insteading of saying “No”. Moreover, in many languages, nouns have a gender. For instance, the word “bridge” in German is feminine. Having lived in Germany for decades, German often refer to the “bridge” as beautiful which is the term used mostly with women. Whereas, the Spanish would refer to the word “bridge” as “long” and “strong”, which are the words mostly used with men because the bridge is male in Spanish. In addition, understanding the differences in language will help people more understand others’ intentions. Consequently, people will have many different thoughts due to the language that shapes the perspectives. In conclusion, each language provides its speakers with a particular worldview that might not be the same as the one that speakers of other languages have. In other words, we see the world according to the framework of language that imposes on us.