Problems and solutions for overuse of non-traditional farming techniques

Together with technology development, there have been remarkable changes in cultivation and plantation of agricultural products. However, increasing concerns about negative consequences of overusing modern techniques in agriculture have been reported. This essay discusses main issues caused by such non-traditional methods to the environment and human-beings and proposes several solutions. Firstly, the abuse of non-traditional farming methods has certainly caused various problems to the natural environment. For example, scientists have pointed out that using too much fertilizer and pesticide has killed useful bacteria, fauna and flora. In addition, soil and water resources in many areas are believed to be poisoned by chemicals which were originally invented to deal with pests or weeds. Consequently, the natural biodiversity has been damaged. Furthermore, highly productive machines used in cutting down trees have also caused huge landslides, soil erosion and flooding. Secondly, such cultivating techniques have placed negative impacts on humans-being as well. Severe illnesses such as cancer and disabilities might be associated with the overuse of fertilizers and pesticides in agriculture. As a result, people are now worried about selecting daily foods so as not to endanger their health. In addition, the society might probably have lost huge financial and human resources to invest in protecting the environment, which is being threatened by such modern cultivation methods. In order to mitigate such problems, stricter laws and policies on specific types of proper cultivating techniques should be promulgated. Secondly, more awareness raising campaigns should be organized to educate farmers on adverse effects of fertilizers and chemicals in cultivation. Finally, traditional organic farming models should be piloted and promoted to gradually replace the harmful ones. To sum up, the overuse of non-traditional farming methods have brought serious problems to both nature and mankind. Specific solutions including legal framework, public education and organic modeling should be considered to partly solve such threats.