Prisoners should be sent to prisons for crimes committee. What's your opinion

The alarming rates at which various crimes are increasing across the globe really startles us to a very great extent. The kind of crimes committed these days are so grave that it sends down a shiver through the spine for many. But there are definitely many better ways to help them overcome their deeds, other than sending them behind bars. Most criminals who end up doing various types of crimes are mostly unstable mentally. Putting such people in a prison will not only leave them solitary and depreesed but also do no good to them eventually. What we ideally should push for is sending such criminals to correction centres where the challenge they face is rectified as per the kind of mindsets they have. If we can provide these people with the right correction therapy to strengthen their minds, then these very people will become good samaritans of the country they live in. Therefore, in my opinion, rather than imprisionment, we should work on correcting their thinking habits and behaviour to help them lead a successful life.