Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Some other people think that they are useful to some extent. Discuss the views.

It is widely believed that zoos are cruelly exploitative, while others argue they serve the vital function of protecting endangered animals. In my opinion, though zoos are inherently unnatural, their efforts are laudable overall. Zoos are limiting the activities of creatures and their natural way of spending their life. For instance, lions, which have to roam on the big territories, are conserved in small cages. It can lead to the lion losing its instincts. By keeping them cooped up, the chances of extinction are increased as conditions for mating and reproducing are broken. That goes for most of the animals, who can live in a wild habitat by themselves. Not to mention that some institutions abuse creatures, for example, training them for entertainment. This thing can leave a negative impact on animals. From another point of view, zoos provide a safe place for animals, protect endangered animals from extinction. For example, pandas have troubles with reproduction, and people are indeed helping, thus, increasing the population. Additionally, due to global warming, some species could lose their homes. For some endangered animals, it may be plausible to keep them in captivity, where they can roam freely. In conclusion, we cannot deny that both sides are well-grounded. Although zoo plays an important role in wildlife conservation, I would argue that the government should take serious steps to give a more realistic living environment than their natural environment.