Prison is the common way in most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

Most nations use a solution of jail for their problem of crime. Though, an easier option would be to educate their people. I support the above argument. In this essay, I will explain why better educating the common public is beneficial to jailing them for any criminal activity. Education is the key to reducing the criminal activity of any nation. Educated people are more likely to find a job and make an honest living contributing to society at large. They are aware of the penalties of breaking the law and would rather abide by it. To illustrate, in a recent study conducted by the Times Network, crime in urban areas has fallen by almost 50% due to the government’s crackdown on compulsory education of all children below the age of 18. Moreover, governments should set up specialised colleges and training centers for its citizens. The education costs should be provided at a subsidy for the lower sections of society. Scholarships and merit should be instituted for deserving candidates. Students should be encouraged to pursue higher studies. Banks could also provide subsidies on loans or other instruments. For example, most students who have availed of a loan for international study, banks allow repayment of the loan once they are able to secure permanent employment. To summarise, better education of a nation’s citizens will help in reducing the crime rate. Educated people are less likely to perform criminal activity due to their knowledge of its repercussions. Governing bodies can encourage higher education by changing their policies and procedures. Hence, prison is not the way forward, but better education is.