Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Discuss

Nowadays, the rate of crime has skyrocketed and governments across the world have to deal with an increasing number of offenders. One of the most debatable problems in our society relates to the most effective measures to punish or rehabilitate criminals. Some critics argue that the best way to sanction criminals is to sentence them to time in prison. I totally disagree with this statement and in this essay I will support my opinion with examples. Firstly, prison culture is not much different to the part of the society these criminals are coming from and in some situations, jails have become schools of crime for the newcomers. For instance, those who committed petty crimes such as vandalism or theft, usually reside in the same place with high risk offenders who were charged with murder or other violent crime. Since people generally learn by conditioning, the lawbreakers who committed less personal crimes will be educated in the ways of the criminal and will be more likely to graduate from low-level offenders to lifetime criminals. Research conducted in several developed countries shows that more than 35% of prisoners will re-offend once they are released back into the community. Consequently, this makes it clear that detention is far away from being the best way to punish criminals. Secondly, each year a larger amount of taxpayer money goes to fund the prison system, but there is no strong evidence that it rehabilitates the offenders. A small fortune is wasted in convicting criminals and housing prisoners the first time let alone the second time when they re-offend, suggesting that this type of punishment is not cost-effective. If that money was spent on education and social service, most likely that would deter people from committing crime in the first instance. Several studies reveal that is more expensive to keep someone in prison for one year than paying the tuition fee to a prestigious university. Thus, this becomes apparent that imprisonment is the least effective way to discipline offenders. To summarize, although detention centres may be the only means to punish the most dangerous criminals in society, I believe that they are far from being the best way to rehabilitate the lawbreakers. In some cases, serving time in prison can increase the likelihood that inmates will re-offend, therefore I think it should be the last resort to be used.