Printed newspaper or books vs online

In today's world, advertisement has become a significant tool for marketing a product. While some argue that advertisement increases awareness about products that may improve our lives, others are of the opinion that advertisement induces people to buy unnecessary things. I strongly believe that the latter is more correct, as will be explained. To promote a product, companies generally propagate only its the brighter side, thus providing an incomplete picture of the product. When only positive aspects are known, there is an inclination to buy that product; thus, we end up purchasing something which is not required. One such example is herbal products and weight loss supplements. In data published by the magazine India Today, the use of herbal products to reduce weight has seen significant increase in the recent years, whereas health experts are of the opinion that weight can only be controlled through proper diet and exercise. Many of my friends who used such medicines have later repented their choice. Moreover, children are easily attracted by advertisements. Nowadays, most of the teenagers like to own a smart phone which is a result of mass advertisement. Recently a school in UK banned children from using mobile phones inside school premises, as cellphones were the major cause of distraction which affected their studies. In conclusion, it can be said that an advertisement creates an impression on consumer's mind and people end up buying an undesired product. Thus, a thorough research before buying is strongly recommended.