prevention is better than cure. researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would better to invest in preventive measures. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Owing to the problems with the costs of health care, it is argued that the governments should focus on prevention more than cure. From my perspective it may seem that not only the process of healing costs too much but also, it wastes a lot of time. Firstly, dealing with the issues surrounding the health care’s budget is best solved by taking a long-term approach to producing more effective medicine to prevent costly diseases. In fact, never have we witnessed such an economic pressure on society for health care expenses in our history and there is an increased propensity for people to get insurance for handling these expenses. For instance, according to a survey conducted by Cambridge University, the overwhelming predominance of people tend to ignore their illness when their insurance does not covet the costs. Another point to consider is that illness can waste a lot of time in a patient’s life thus, affects his career and lifestyle. On average, every individual may spend more than a week in hospital in his lifetime and some experts claim that there is a direct correlation between spending time in hospital and mental disease such as depression, therefore if the governments allocated more money for preventive medicine, it would positively impact on both mental and physical health of the society. In conclusion, it is probably true to say that some opponents claim that focusing just on prevention in health care brings many issues with it, on the contrary, I think this is the best way to enhance society’s health problems.