Presentasi Seminar Proposal

As a human being, I believe that lying is a crucial skill which people need in our society to survive nowadays. We can not get over the fact that we can live without telling a lie. Meanwhile, for some people, telling the truth is more likely important even though it may hurt people’s feelings. In this essay, I would like to highlight the reasons why I stand with this argument. In our society, lying has been stigmatized as something negative and morally wrong. Some people may prefer to tell the truth because they think that telling a lie hurts their integrity. In fact, people can not avoid that lying is a part of their life. On the other hand, For people who value honesty itself, they can not get over with telling a lie in their life. Lying is more likely to be another part of our personality as a human. There are a number of reasons that force people to not tell the truth. Firstly, when people are in difficult circumstances such as surviving or wanting something, they will probably not tell the truth. Secondly, people use different kinds of lying that usually have started from their childhood for just wanting to get attention or avoid punishment. For instance, when I was a child, Instead of telling the truth that I had a fight with a friend, I lied to my parents to not get punished. Another reason is people tend to tell a lie for the benefit of others. For example, a doctor probably will not tell his patient's condition honestly because he is trying to comfort and lift them up. Sometimes, this can help people a lot. Overall, people who tell a lie do not try to be mean with purpose. As long as you are not trying to hurt people by not telling the truth honestly, I believe it is totally fine to tell a lie.