Pore-Scale Investigation of Wetting Strength on Capillary Pressure Hysteresis in A Realistic Porous Media Using Lattice Boltzmann Method

Capillary pressure hysteresis is considered a realistic porous media characteristic, which strongly affects the fluid flow displacement. Therefore, after benchmark tests, the basic concepts of drainage and imbibition processes and how to determine the capillary pressure-saturation curve by the Lattice Boltzmann Method are discussed. Studies have been done in three categories of wettability conditions, including nearly neutral wet, moderately wet, and strongly wet. The interesting point is the capillary pressure bump phenomenon in the drainage process because this model can capture that. Since the capillary pressure plays a resistive-role for fluid displacement in the drainage process, wettability change controls the flow pattern intensely. Furthermore, results show that increasing the wetting strength will intensify this phenomenon despite the shift of both imbibition and drainage curves towards higher capillary pressures. Hence, the cause of this event can be the excessive increase of capillary pressure in some pores. Another implication is that increasing the wettability strength will allow more wetting fluid to be trapped in the drainage process, which is a sign of the snap-off phenomenon.