Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. with this statement?

In comparison with even the recent past, the choice of leisure activities on offer today is vast, so it is reasonable to find that some of these activities reflect the trends and fads of the day. People have far more money and time than before to pursue their interests but the ever-increasing number of activities does not automatically guarantee continuity. In fact, new hobbies come and go. For example, sports such as roller-blading lose their fascination after a few months. Similarly, although snowboarding has taken over from traditional skiing, it is doubtful whether its popularity will last. Other things like eléctronic games go out of date almost as soon as you have bought them because the manufacturers promote the fact that only the latest version is worth having. And so ensure continued sales. On the other hand, not everyone is a victim of fashion in this way and people of all ages and backgrounds may take up hobbies for social reasons. Traditional hobbies range from participation in active sports like tennis to old favorites such as chess and stamp collecting, and these continue to be popular. By joining a club, people can make friends and feel part of a group with whom they can share a common interest and leisure time. Where sport is concerned, most people know what they like and participate out of love of the game, rather than because it is currently fashionable. I believe, therefore, that while fashion may have an influence, particularly among the young, the majority of people enjoy their hobbies for their own sake.