The tourism industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years, and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourist visit.

Over the last five decades tourism sector developed dramatically although there is a minority of countries who didn’t get affected. Although some people think that tourism only brings minor merits to the countries I believe that there are numerous advantages worth considering. Firstly, countries are catagorized into developed, developing and undeveloped mainly. If we take my hometown Turkey as a sample, it fits to developing country category. Especially for countries who don’t have a powerful economy like Turkey, tourism is an crucial sector for contributing to the income of the country. For instance, Turkey has tempting tours for Arabic tourists in Black Sea region, 5 star hotel tours for German tourists in Mediterrian and different tours for lots of other nationalities. These wide range of tourist groups are all supporting the national economy. Second reason why I am in favour of tourism sector’s growth is that it can help breaking down the prejudices and stereotypes about that country. Witnessing everything from first eye can help tourists to change the hearsays. For example, before I visited Germany I was thinking about German people as cold and distant people. But after I met with my friend group all my prejudices about them were gone. Probably I may not be able to change my idea without meeting sincere people face to face. So from my opinion tourism sector also has a ice breaking role between nations. To sum up, I strongly support that tourism has both economical and cultural benefits to the countries and governments need to support this international industry. I believe that definitely the benefits are outweighing the drawbacks.