Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really what to do in their spare time.

It is true that people's hobbies and interests change in accordance with the latest trends and fashions. They are following these hobbies and interest for the sake of popularity, not for personal pleasure. To a certain extent, I would agree with the statements, but there are some new hobbies which people follow due they like the activity. On the one hand, many people change their hobbies for popularity purpose. People follow and do popular activities to show that they exist and up to date with the latest trends. But In the reality, they do not have the passion in doing it. For example, mountain biking has become a popular activity in Indonesia lately, and many people are following it. While some of them do mountain biking due to they like the sport, others are doing it to show that they are following the current trend and to show that they have the latest model of the bicycle. On the other hand, there are few other people who change their interests and hobbies due to the fact that they like these new activities. These new hobbies might be the latest trend, but these people change their interest because they have such huge passion in these activities. Besides that, these hobbies might be newly invented, therefore no one was doing these hobbies in the past. In conclusion, it is a fact that people's hobbies and interest sometimes changes. To a certain point, I agree that some people change their hobbies due to following the trend, but there are others who change their interest due to they like the new activity. I personally believe that hobby is a personal matter, and we should not follow what is popular in public and should do things that we really like.