Please tell us about a time when you showed great initiative. What influence did your actions have on your life and/or the people around you?

When I was in my 9th grade, The Election Commission of India hosted various literary and cultural events around the country. My teachers selected a couple of my batchmates along with me for the mock parliament event. We were around 20 students in total. The first round's deadline was a week and a half away. I was excited because not only I was given the lead role of a Prime minister but also this was my first time in a mock event. I took the initiative of preparing the entire script. Furthermore, I started my research on mock parliaments and within half a week, I was ready with the roles and script. Since it was politics that we needed to talk about, I had to be extremely cautious while writing the dialouges and portraying real life politicians. To my surprise, we ended up winning the preliminary round which was at the district level, and then we qualified for the State level. We won the competition by securing first place in the state of Telangana. I have always enjoyed trying things that I have never done before. And for instance, the Mock parliament was one of those activities that I wasn't familiar with. The opportunity was right in front of me and I am happy that I took the initiative. My school has never won such a competition at State level and for me and my friends who were a part of it, it was a big moment for us. Not only it made us feel confident, but also polished our teamworking skills. The time invested in it was worth every penny as we got to know alot about politics, current affairs and the Parliament. Since that year, my juniors actively participate in such events.