The increase in tourism has led to the destruction of the environment, thus tourism ought to be banned in certain areas. What is your opinion?

A section of people hold an opinion that a hike in tourism sector is causing damage to environment and hence tourism should be restricted in some places. I completely agree with the above statement. In this essay I will throw some light on some aspects that of tourism that are damaging to environment. Although, vacation industry contribute to a huge chunk in our nations economy we cannot ignore the risk that comes with allowing foreigners in the country. The recent pandemic Covid-19 and its disastrous effects on mankind is an example for this. During the pandemic due to quarantine and social isolation there is significant increase in domestic waste and also hospital waste without recycling procedures leading to immense ill effects on environment. Besides, tourism industries have a extreme negative effects on coastal areas and contribute to severe sea shore waste. For instance every year tons of plastic cans and other waste is washed up in goa shore after the vacation season and because of which under water flora and fauna is negatively impacted. Hence tourism should be restricted in Goa for few years to help nature regain its composure. Apart from this many states in quest to improve tourism sectors are promoting to build new resorts and recreational parks in nature depths which causes deforestation, and ultimately effect the rainfall conditions leading to droughts. Are this measures to improve economic reserves by government right? if so whom are they beneficial to? As responsible citizens it is our duty to be aware about preservation of nature, if not along with flora and fauna we humans might also become extinct in coming years. To conclude, even though vacation sector is a major source of economy in countries, governments should regulate and constrict tourism in some locations in-order to avoid damage to environment.