Please tell us about a time when you learned something new. At Dev Degree, we are all lifelong learners and everyone learns differently. In writing about when you learned something new, think about why you took the initiative to learn this. How did you approach your learning? How did you apply your knowledge and learning?

I was exposed to a ton of new things when I went on the Kennedy Lugar Youth Exchange and Study program to the United States. Since I studied in an American high school for 10 months while living with an American host family, I adjusted to my surroundings by coming out of my comfort zone and making the available zone as my new comfort zone. And this is something that demanded persistancy and constant motivation. Apart from experiencing a newer academic module, learning about the American History and taking a spanish class was something that I had never dreamt about. Infact there wasn't a single similarity that I could find between the Indian and American education system. Unlike in India, sports are a very big thing in the schools in U. S and owing to the fact that I had only 10 months to experience the unique American high schooler life, I decided to take part in all the 3 seasonal sports: American Football in the spring season, Wrestling in the winter season and Track in the Summer season. Since I wasn't used to those physically draining workouts, I took a weightlifitng and a gym class in all the three semesters so that it becomes easier for me to get in shape faster and that I can be ready before the season starts. Wrestling is known as one of the toughest sports out there and I loved that sport for everything it taught me. From not giving up irrespective of how strong the opponent is, hanging in there till the last minute and the willingness to accept the outcome of a match and the effort to make the wrongs right.