Physical exercise is more important to older people than to younger people.

Without a doubt, it is critically important that we keep exercising to maintain our mental and physical health. Personally, I believe that elderly people need more physical exercise than young people. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. First of all, older people have higher risks to get diseases and injuries, and physical exercise will prevent them. Without exercising, their risks to get any diseases will drastically increase and they will not be able to live a healthy life. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a high school student, my grandfather got serious sick. It took three months to recover from the disease since he had not exercised at all at that time. When he recovered from the illness, his doctor advised him do a regular exercise every day and he continued exercising every day after that. Consequently, he has been healthy for ten years after the illness. On the contrary, I never got sick when I was a high school student although I did not exercise at all. As this example illustrates, exercising is more important for elderly people to keep their health than younger people. Secondly, elderly people tend to be exposed to stressful situation more frequently than younger people, thus they need more to relax by exercising themselves. Older people usually feel so much stress in their work place but exercising is going to help to reduce their stress. For instance, when I was a university student, my father usually got home with depressed face. He was a general manager of an international advertising company and he had a lot of stressful discussions every day. Every weekend, he went to the gym to exercise and to remove his stress. He always said to me that he cannot live without the gym. In contrast, I did not feel so much stress and easily remove them to meet with my friend etc. since I had a lot of free time. Therefore, opportunities to exercise are more crucial for older people than younger people. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that older people should do exercise more than younger people do. This is because they have higher risks to get sick, and because they need to remove stress more than younger humans.