Physical education should be mandatory at universities.

Due to the benefits associated with exercising, some believe that universities should require students to take physical education classes. I totally agree that gym classes should be obligatory at universities. I feel this way for two reasons which I will examine in this essay. First of all, exercising regularly helps students improve their academic performance. Since many students have to cope with an enormous workload during the semester, they are prone to suffer from stress and anxiety. Evidently, exercising in between sessions of studying can help students focus on something different than just their subject and relax. Consequently, when they continue studying after having worked out, they can concentrate better on the topic at hand. Thus, exercising allows students to study more efficiently which enables them to get better grades. This is best demonstrated by my personal experience. When I started studying at university, I did not do any exercise because of the huge workload that required me to study for hours. As a result, I felt overwhelmed and stressed out. Eventually, I started swimming every second day which had a huge impact on my performance. Suddenly, I felt more confident, I focused better on tasks, and I managed to get them done more quickly than before. I am sure that if I had not started exercising regularly, I would not have been able to study so efficiently. As a result, my grades improved considerably. Second, physical exercise provides students with skills that can prove useful in their future careers. In particular, those types of exercise that require students to work in a team promote their skills in communication and organization. Obviously, such skills are indispensable when one has to work in a team at university or in a later job. For instance, I played basketball at university. As basketball requires all team members to work closely together, we all had to learn how to communicate with each other. In the beginning this was a huge challenge for all of us. However, after a while I realized that I was able to understand subtle signs of others and to react appropriately. In addition to that, the communication skills I had acquired came in very handy when doing group work in seminars. In fact, I was able to communicate more effectively with my team. Further, I was not only more empathetic towards my team members but I was also able to organize tasks more efficiently. Certainly, if I had not played basketball at university, I would not have developed these skills. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that students should be required to exercise at university. This is because physical exercise enhances the academic performance of students and because it allows them to develop necessary skills for their future.