In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What are your opinions on this?

More and more children are inevitably engaged in some paid work. Although its profits have been regarded as valuable work experience, the ability to learn, and taking responsibility, many still consider this completely wrong. In my opinion, children should not be engaged in paid works as its negative impacts are much heavier than its positive profits. There is no concern that there would be many benefits if children were engaged in paid works early. Children could gain valuable experience and knowledge from working, which schools could not teach them. Therefore, they would be years of experience ahead of their colleagues who are not working early. The children could also be responsible for their relatives since they have understood the difficulties of earning incomes. Nevertheless, engaging in earning money too early has many long-term negative impacts. Firstly, since they had an income, they will consider this as “their money” and start to waste them on unnecessary products or services rather than helping the family’s economics. Even more, because of working too early, they will be less focused on studying; therefore, their academic capacity will fall rapidly. This will create a chain effect as many universities require an excellent academic capacity if they want to enroll in, and the companies require a good diploma if they want to work for them. In a nutshell, children might earn a fair amount of money now; in the long term, however, they could not have a sufficient income to support their own or their family economics. In conclusion, it is clear that children should not be engaged in paid works too early. Despite many benefits, the long-term negative impacts are too heavy to be left unconsidered.