People today are spending more and more time out of the home. What are the reasons for this trend? What effects is it having on individuals and society?

Spending a tremendous amount of time out of the home is the bane of our time. This trend stems from working longer hours and fleeing poor family relationships. Not only will this impact the individuals themselves, but it will also affect the whole society either in a negative or positive way. One of the causes why people spending too much time out of their home is working for prolonged hours since the cost of living is so high. Moreover, when they work more, they gain more experience, and hence better career progression. However, such a situation can negatively impact the family and cause communication to reduce, so the sense of togetherness will be lost. Therefore, this will potentially give rise to family conflict and stress, which will sometimes lead to domestic violence and divorce. In contrast to society, the impact of working hard is positive in terms of economic development. As companies will thrive and earn more, which means that they will provide more taxes that will hopefully be used in social assistance programs. Another reason for staying more out of the home is the unhealthy family atmosphere. When the parents are not good enough to care about their families, family members will enjoy being with their friends as a way of avoiding facing the truth. As a result, they might find it better to move and live with their partner or their roommate. This can have serious deteriorating effects on individuals, which range from mental health issues to drug abuse. In addition, serious society ramifications such as high crime rates and homelessness are brought about by being out home for a significant amount of time. In conclusion, working extra time and poor family relationships trigger the trend of spending a great deal of time out of the home. The impact of this can be felt in domestic violence, marital breakdown and psychiatric health issues. While it has only negative effect on individual level, it can have both positive and negative influences on the society.