People today are capable of accessing the Internet through their mobile smart device.

People today are capable of accessing the Internet through their mobile smart device. This puts them in touch with an extremely large amounts of information. Although this trend has many positive ramifications, such as internet interconnectivity between people and spreading of understanding, it is not without drawbacks. To illustrate this, the effect of smart devices have on their user’s memory and privacy will be analysed. For one, smart devices caused people to relay less on their memories. For example, sites like Wikipedia make it easy for smart phone users to quickly access information on almost any topic. The problem with this convenience is that, it encourages people to commit fewer and fewer things to memory and this makes humanity’s collective understanding of the world increasingly dependent on machinery. Thus this is one of the main drawbacks to having unrestricted access to information through smart devices