People think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe there are other alternative solutions for reducinf crime.

Crimes committed deserve punishment by all means. One school of thought is that the most effective way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences while others opine that there are other measures to reduce crime as well. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and why other ways can be an effective way to reduce crime rate globally. Many people think that putting the offender in jail will make him repent for wrong doings. Quite often the criminals in prison are put into rehabilitation centers which helps them cleanse their minds and become a better individual. However, this process comes with a cost of longer prison sentence. This is also causes a lot of frustration in the individual and instead rehabilitating, the person becomes more bitter thereby affecting his mind negatively. On the paradoxical side, in order to reduce crime index globally, can also be given other forms of punishments like hefty fines, working for the societal development and therapy as well. All these methods can be adopted based on the severity of the crime. For instance, someone who often breaks traffic rules can be penalised with enormous fines to teach a lesson. Likewise someone who does minor thefts can be suffering from Kleptomania and should be given therapy for it as prison won't help him. Personally I believe that other forms of penalizations should be adopted with respect to the severity of crime as the most righteous form of punishment for offender is what we need to make this world a crime free place to live. To conclude, both forms of punishments are necessary bringing a reform in the society. We need to create fear in the minds of individuals as well as for them to think twice about committing a crime and also give a chance to the criminal to have a better future.