It is sometimes argued that too many students go to university, while others claim that a university education should be a universal right.

Going to university seems to be a common phenomenon in these days -- even compulsory if one wants to secure a decent job. however, as more and more students enrol in universities, some may think that problems have arised. In particular, the lowered overall quality of university candidates. some, on the other hand, believe that this current trend is a beneficial one that puts an end to an equal opportunities and safeguard people's rights to education. To begin with, higher enrollments in universities lowers the quality of university students. as more and more students are able to get into university, some less able students get into universities with their other strong competitors. these students may only enter university because of their parents expectations, or because they do not want to be left behind in the trend of getting a university degree. it is presumed that very few students and role in universities because of them genuinely wanting to gain expertise in certain academic areas. as a result, it is difficult to distinguish the outstanding students from other universities graduates. this causes a quality problems as the candidates look for work. for instance, both a and b graduates hold the same nursing bachelor's degree. but student a is more hard-working than student b while B may have devoted all his or her time into things other than studying during his or her university years. the employer, however, is unable to tell the difference. this deteriorates the right of student a -- to be recognised for his or her hard work and receive a job securely that he or she deserves. more students enrolling in universities undermines the rights of outstanding students further, as it lowers the overall quality of graduates, even for those who do not deserve to be called "low quality". on the other side of the issue, some people think More university enrollments actually help foster the equity principle instead of undermining it. it is believed that this phenomenon protects ones right to pursue education and interested areas regardless of one's abilities. although there may be a lower quality of graduates, many think that this cannot be an excuse to cut the amount of people entering universities. after all, even if one lacks the ability to excel, he or she still holds the right to knowledge. for example a middle-aged woman enters university for a philosophy degree. she may not have good language skills or the brains to achieve good results in university, but she should still be welcomed to pursue her passion. besides, with more people receiving higher education, it is beneficial to society as well. people who may not have the opportunity to get into university in the past can do so now, and even if these people are not as good as other university goers, they are able to be cultivated into a better person with moral values and knowledge. they may receive an improved job income and treat others well that the society becomes more harmonious. Thus, more students enrolling in universities enhances overall quality of life, and most importantly, equal opportunities for everyone. by and large, while higher university enrollment and lowers the general quality of university graduates, it can also safeguard people's rights to education. I agree with the latter. Knowledge should be for everyone, no matter they are good or not. this current phenomenon exists to encourage people to pursue their passion and to boost the well-being of the society as a whole.