People these days work longer and longer hours. What are the causes? How is it affecting individuals and society?

Modern life probably forces people to spend more and more time accomplishing their work to get some beneficial rewards like promotion or extra money. This trend has several main causes and obvious impacts on citizens and communities. There are 2 main reasons why this trend happened, namely desire for promotion and the need for rising salary. First and foremost, the hustle and bustle life possibly asked the population to join the rat race to earn money for essential demands. A clear example is that some companies, who want to increase efficiency, can encourage their employees to complete more products by the promise to give rewards or extra loans. Moreover, the young generation, who have a great dream and desire to devote themselves to a better society, often want to apply to high positions in their office. In particular, the higher the position workers get, the more difficult tasks they have to encounter to challenge and perfect themselves. Spending much more time on work tends to have powerful impacts on each employee and even a big community. When it comes to individuals, this trend can put people at risk of being stressed, spending less time looking after their families and friends. In contrast, this helps the young get high salaries and fascinating presents from companies. With a respect to society, the way of life can be changed a lot and this can cause unforeseen consequences. Take an example, people leave the house early and go from work late, which can worsen relationships with family members since they no longer spend time with each other. In conclusion, increasing the work hours has two main reasons because of the need for promotion and more money for people. This trend causes more negative effects than beneficial ones.