People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent in technology, nowadays many individuals do not prefer any company while watching televisions, movies and other shows. Certainly, there are several merits and demerits of such approach. However, in my opinion such trend surely has more drawbacks as compared to its benefits. Firstly, T. V has a varied set of different shows, channels, etc. to offer that it becomes difficult to make a choice. And thus, to binge alone means a person can view anything of their preference and there are not restrictions or judgement in that. Moreover, now as the world is moving toward digitalization, people are spending much of their time on various E-platforms such as Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hotstar, etc. So, it is obvious that teenagers enjoy their own company. Also, there are difference in the choices and ideologies because of generation gap between the individual and others that attract them to spend more time with themselves. For example, a youngster would like to watch some romantic movie or science film but, the other family members are more interested in cultural shows. However, such approach has more negative side as, the essential social skills are hampered when people don’t spend enough time with each other. Because, it is always a good idea to connect with family by watching the same shows. Besides, we as a human species are social animals and being alone can cause various problems in future such as depression, anxiety, insomnia, etc. Moreover, it is also observed that many children watch some malicious or harmful content on certain shows that encourages rebellious behavior in them. For instance, a certain series named Money Heist has created such a craze among youngsters that now they are being influenced and encouraged to rob a bank. To sum up, it is safe to say that even though it is good to have some alone time while watching some of your favorite shows, but such a trend can be detrimental for the young generation in future. So, it can be concluded that the negative aspects surely outweighs the positives.