: "people tend to be happier when there is low income inequality". Write an essay about 350 words to discuss about that idea.

In today’s world, most governments are sharing great concern about income equality. When this issue comes into view, there exist many conflicting opinions. It is said that people will be happier if they live in a world with low income inequality. From my point of view, I am utterly convinced by this view. First and foremost, income inequality is the main reason that makes many people fall into poverty. To be more specific, the jealousy effect suggests that, when income inequality is high, individuals tend to be unhappy because they are jealous of their wealthier peers. Hence, they may tend to spend more attempting to keep their living standards the same as their friends. To put it in another way, they will spend more money on unnecessary things. For example, they could buy a new phone which is just to show off their wealth with their friends in spite of the fact that the old one can still be used. For this reason, people with lower incomes may be forced to borrow to maintain their consumption levels at the same point as their friends, which may result in high levels of debt. Consequently, they may be at risk of getting into poverty owing to the amount of money they spend for that reason. In addition, income inequality is linked to the adverse effect on the economy which is one of the most essential factors to make people live happier. To clarify, employees’ productivity is affected by whether they believe their pay to be fair. That means if they are paid unfairly, their productivity will decrease and that also makes them less committed to their work. Another thing to add is that income inequality leads to the lower wage of many people. It is an undeniable fact that employees’ productivity is further lowered if their pay is low enough that they are struggling to afford their basic needs. This happens because people living with scarcity devote a portion of their mental energy to dealing with this problem, which they could otherwise use to pay attention to their work. Finally, economic development may be inhibited by a decrease in productivity. Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that income inequality may cause poverty in human life and the slowdown of the economy. As a result, it is obvious that people will live happier if the income inequality is lower.