People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems.

Many people are of the opinion that spending time studying literature like novels or poems in high schools is meaningless. However, I firmly believe that learning these topics brings mental benefits for learners by playing an indispensable role in the students' emotional development and even being a necessary psychological treatment for people undergoing a period of mental illness. The first reason why most students should take literature courses in high schools is that reading novels or poems encourages the imagination of people. Being written by well-known authors, such literature genres own the art of ordering words or complete story-telling skills. Characters in stories, along with their features, experiments with gorgeous descriptions as well, bring readers to different levels of feelings. On the way of discovering book's hidden, learners meet opportunities to understand themself and experience life in a more sophisticated approach. In terms of health effects associated with a nervous breakdown, enjoying literature works is considered to be a cure with positive values for patients. Contain profound humanitarian messages, novels or poems pick people up from feeling depressed, forget sorrows, and think more optimistically. For example, "Sans famille" by famous French author Hector Malot is a novel in praise of kindness and efforts. Novels and poems showing a sense of respect to inner ability, so far, boost people to be more robust when facing difficulties. In conclusion, learning literature leads to precious values not only in mental but also in medical states. For these reasons, it is clear that students are likely to study literature in high schools since it brings individuals a handsome living.