People nowadays are used to disposable items meaning that they use things for short time and throw them away. What do you think is the cause of this and what problems can it lead to?

Nowadays, it is increasingly common for people to buy new things frequently. Unfortunately, this also encourages them to throw away old but usable things. This trend has a negative effect on the environment. People are inclined to buy new things mainly because of the irresistible advertisements. Manufacturers promote their new products rigorously and capitalize on the needs and wants of people. For instance, every year companies launch a new model of smart phones. Even though it would have the same functionality as the previous model, people are attracted by the promotions and buy it. Another reason for this compulsive urge to buy is the busy lifestyle of people. Nobody has time to fix things that have stopped working. Actually, buying new stuff is easier than getting things repaired. Admittedly, this trend has become a serious threat to our environment. Excessive production of goods leads to the depletion of natural resources. For instance, many trees are cut down to produce various household items. If people wanted to replace their furniture more frequently, it would result in destruction of forests. In addition, when products are thrown away, they produce more garbage. Many consumer goods have non-recyclable parts that will remain in the soil forever. Thus by throwing away goods we are unwittingly causing damage to the environment. To conclude, the throwaway culture is a reflection of our materialistic mentality. We have little regard for nature or natural resources. However, considering the destruction it would cause to the environment, this practice needs to be curtailed / discouraged. The government should launch campaigns to create awareness about the dangers of throwing away goods and also enact laws that make recycling mandatory.